Country legalisation guide

For more information on individual country requirements and current consulate fees, check our Country Requirements List

Flag of  LU

Legalisation for Luxembourg





Notarisation and Apostille for Luxembourg

Luxembourg, officially the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, is a landlocked country in western Europe. It is one of the smallest sovereign states in Europe, and amongst the least populous countries in the world. Luxembourg is a a representative democracy with a constitutional monarchy, and is currently the only Grand Duchy in the world. The capital city of Luxembourg is the city of Luxembourg.

Luxembourg is a founding member of the European Union (EU) and Luxmebourg city is one of the four official capitals of the EU (along with Brussels, Frankfurt, and Strasbourg).

Three languages are used for administrative purposes – French, German and Luxembourgish.

Documents issued in the United Kingdom to be used in Luxembourg will need to be notarised and/or apostilled in order to be valid in Luxembourg.

Luxembourg was a founding signatory to the Convention of 5 October 1961 Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents. It entered into force on 03 June 1979, and means that any document that has been apostilled will be accepted in Luxembourg. Legalisation by the Embassy of Luxembourg in the United Kingdom is not required.

If you need help to notarise or apostille your document for Luxembourg, we would like to help. Get in touch today.

Get in touch

Attach a file

Allowed file formats are .jpg, .jpeg, .png, .pdf, .doc, .docx
(max. file size is 2mb)