Country legalisation guide

For more information on individual country requirements and current consulate fees, check our Country Requirements List

Flag of  MY

Consular Legalisation for Malaysia




Consular Legalisation

Commercial Document

Personal Document
1-2 working days
Tuesday – Thursday
10:00 – 12:00
45 Belgrave Square
0207 235 8033


Legalisation for Malaysia

Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy consisting of thirteen states (Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Penang, Perak, Perlis, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor and Terengganu) and three federal territories (Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya).

UK issued documents to be used in Malaysia will need to be notarised and/or apostilled before being legalised by the High Commission of Malaysia in London. Document legalisation is required as Malaysia is not currently a signatory to the Convention of 5 October 1961 Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents. Legalisation is handled by the Consular Division of the High Commission.

The Malaysian High Commission charges the same fee for personal and commercial documents. Appointments for submission must be booked in advance. On submission, a photocopy of the document must be provided.

Get in touch

Attach a file

Allowed file formats are .jpg, .jpeg, .png, .pdf, .doc, .docx
(max. file size is 2mb)